A Summer in the Life of a PhD | July, August & September | #10

As you read in my update post, summer was busssssyyyyyy. By next month, I should be back to posting monthly life updates, but I thought it would be better if I combine the last few months!

JULY:

  • I began redrafting my probation report. SURPRISE, SURPRISE–there were many spelling mistakes!
  • I continued transcribing archive documents–something I’ve learnt this year is THIS TAKES FOREVER.
  • I dislocated my knee (not work related but it definitely impacted it!)
  • I wrote a piece for the brilliant First 100 Years project. Check it out here.
  • I worked on a paper for a upcoming August conference.

AUGUST:

  • I continued redrafting my probation report. Told you it took me FOREVER!
  • Ditto, transcribing.
  • Ditto, PhD reading.
  • I also directed a panto:
  • I also attended and presented at the wonderful annual WHN conference in Portsmouth. It was such a wonderful event, full of super interesting papers and a suffragette sing-a-long.

40508792_10156718948964697_7663643264469172224_n.jpg

SEPTEMBER:

  • I attended and chaired a panel at the CLC conference. Weirdly, chairing a panel was super stressful and nerve-racking! Almost more so than delivering a paper!
  • I prepped for AND PASSED MY MINI-VIVA! EEEEEEK! This means that I was upgraded to PhD status and my research was approved. Cue celebrations:

  • AND, finally, I wrote a paper for and presented at the OU FBL Research Festival!

  • Alongside this, I did more academic reading, transcribed more documents, and emailed archives.

SO, I’ve had the most amazing first year as a PhD student. It’s been challenging at times, but always rewarding. I’m really looking forward to where my research goes in the next two years!

 

Leave a comment